

AGREEMENT ON THE CONSERVATION OF AFRICAN-EURASIAN MIGRATORY WATERBIRDS

24th MEETING OF THE STANDING COMMITTEE

4 July 2024, Virtual Meeting Format

GUIDELINES FOR REPORTS SUBMITTED BY THE REGIONAL REPRESENTATIVES TO THE AEWA STANDING COMMITTEE TO MEETINGS OF THE COMMITTEE

Information for the reports shall be collated by Regional Representatives from the Contracting Parties of their respective region (see Annex 1) through the National Focal Points or other useful contacts.

The reports should be submitted in writing to the UNEP/AEWA Secretariat no later than <u>8 days</u> prior to the StC Meeting.

The UNEP/AEWA Secretariat will provide the Regional Representatives with an address list of national Focal Points which is also available on the AEWA website. Along with their reports, Regional Representatives are requested to submit an updated version of this list of Focal Points for their region.

Each report should contain information on the following issues:

- 1. Number of Contracting Parties in the region / number of Range States in the region. New accessions since the previous StC meeting
- 2. Number of Contracting Parties that provided feedback for the report
- 3. Has the Regional Representative actively promoted accession to AEWA among the Range States in their region? If so, how has accession been promoted by the Regional Representative and what was the feedback received?
- 4. Which developments regarding the implementation of AEWA have taken place in the region since the last Meeting of the Parties?
- 5. Overview of special activities and/or meetings related to AEWA
- 6. Overview of special issues that might be of interest to the StC
- 7. Any other relevant information

Annexes:

Annex 1: AEWA Contracting and Non-Contracting Parties listed by region

- Annex 2: Tasks and composition of the AEWA StC (as set out in Resolutions 2.6, 4.6, 4.17, 5.17, 7.1, 8.3, 8.10 and 8.12 of the Agreement)
- Annex 3: List of elected Regional Representatives for the AEWA StC

Annex 4: Current make-up of the AEWA StC

Annex 1

AEWA Contracting Parties and Non-Party Range States listed by regions

Region	Names of AEWA Range States (current Contracting Parties written in bold)
Eastern Africa	Burundi
	Djibouti
	Eritrea
	Ethiopia
	Kenya
	Rwanda
	Somalia
	South Sudan
	Sudan
	Uganda
	United Republic of Tanzania

Southern Africa	Angola	
	Botswana	
	Comoros	
	Eswatini	
	Lesotho	
	Madagascar	
	Malawi	
	Mauritius	
	Mozambique	
	Namibia	
	Seychelles	
	South Africa	
	Zambia	
	Zimbabwe	

Europe	Albania
-	Andorra
	Armenia
	Austria
	Azerbaijan
	Belarus
	Belgium
	Bosnia-Herzegovina
	Bulgaria
	Canada
	Croatia
	Cyprus
	Czech Republic
	Denmark
	Estonia
	Finland
	France
	Georgia
	Germany
	Greece
	Iceland

Israel
Italy
Ireland
Hungary
Latvia
Liechtenstein
Lithuania
Luxembourg
Malta
Republic of Moldova
Monaco
Montenegro
The Netherlands
North Macedonia
Norway
Poland
Portugal
Romania
Russian Federation
San Marino
Serbia
Slovakia
Slovenia
Spain
Sweden
Switzerland
Turkey
Ukraine
United Kingdom of Great Britain

Central Asia	Iran (Islamic Republic of)	
	Kazakhstan	
	Turkmenistan	
	Uzbekistan	

Middle East	Bahrain
	Iraq
	Jordan
	Kuwait
	Lebanon
	Oman
	Qatar
	Saudi Arabia
	Syrian Arab Republic
	United Arab Emirates
	Yemen

Northern Africa	Algeria	
	Egypt	
	Libyan Arab Jamahiriya	
	Могоссо	
	Tunisia	

Western Africa	Benin
	Burkina Faso
	Cabo Verde
	Côte d'Ivoire
	Gambia
	Ghana
	Guinea
	Guinea-Bissau
	Liberia
	Mali
	Mauritania
	Niger
	Nigeria
	Senegal
	Sierra Leone
	Togo

Central Africa	Cameroon
	Central African Republic
	Chad
	Congo
	Democratic Republic of Congo
	Equatorial Guinea
	Gabon
	Sao Tome and Principe

Annex 2

Tasks and composition of the AEWA Standing Committee (as set out in Resolutions 2.6, 4.6, 4.17, 5.17, 7.1, 8.3, 8.10 and 8.12 of the Agreement)

Tasks of the Standing Committee:

- Carry out between sessions of the Meeting of the Parties, such interim activity on behalf of the Meeting as may be necessary;
- Make recommendations for consideration at the next session of the Meeting of the Parties;
- Oversee, on behalf of the Parties, the development and execution of the Secretariat's budget as derived from the Trust Fund and other sources, and also all aspects of fund-raising undertaken by the Secretariat in order to carry out specific functions authorized by the Meeting of the Parties;
- Oversee, as the representative of the Meeting of the Parties, the implementation of policy by the Secretariat and conduct of the Secretariat's programmes;
- Provide guidance and advice to the Secretariat on implementation of the Agreement, on the preparation of meetings, and on any other matters relating to the exercise of the Secretariat's functions brought to it by the Secretariat;
- Represent the Meeting of the Parties, vis-à-vis the Government of the host country of the Secretariat's headquarters, the United Nations Environment Programme and other international organizations for consideration of matters relating to the Agreement and its Secretariat;
- Act as bureau at the sessions of the Meeting of the Parties, in accordance with the rules of procedure of the Meeting of the Parties;
- Report to the Meeting of the Parties on the activities that have been carried out between ordinary sessions of the Meeting of the Parties;
- Undertake the tasks defined in Resolution 7.1 and 8.3 regarding the implementation of the AEWA Strategic Plan and Plan of Action for Africa for the period 20019-2027;
- Undertake the tasks defined in Resolution 4.6 and 5.17 regarding the AEWA Implementation Review Process (IRP), until a further decision of the MOP;
- Undertake the tasks defined in Resolution 8.12 regarding the Secretariat Plan of Work for the period 2023-2025 and Parties' contributions to the AEWA trust fund in arrears;
- > Perform any other functions that may be entrusted to it by the Meeting of the Parties.

Composition of the Standing Committee:

The Committee shall consist of not more than seven Contracting Parties, which shall be appointed by the Meeting of the Parties. For five of these members, the appointment shall be based upon the principle of balanced geographical distribution, reflecting two representatives from the Europe and Central Asia region, one representative from the Middle East and Northern Africa region, one representative from the Western and Central Africa region, and one representative from the Eastern and southern Africa region. The remaining two members shall comprise the host country for the next session of the Meeting of the Parties and a representative from the Depositary.

Annex 3

List of elected Regional Representatives for the Standing Committee

Region	Representative	Alternate
Europe and Central Asia (1)	United Kingdom	Luxembourg
Europe and Central Asia (2)	Ukraine	Republic of Moldova
Middle East and Northern Africa	Morocco	Lebanon
Western and Central Africa	Côte d'Ivoire	Central African Republic
Eastern and Southern Africa	South Africa	Ethiopia

Annex 4

Current make-up of the AEWA StC

AEWA Standing Committee Members 2023 - 2025:

EASTERN AND SOUTHERN AFRICA Ms. Humbulani Mafumo (South Africa) E-mail: <u>HMafumo[AT]environment.gov.za</u>

EUROPE AND CENTRAL ASIA (1) **Mr. Simon Mackown (United Kingdom)** E-mail: <u>simon.mackown[AT]defra.gov.uk</u>

EUROPE AND CENTRAL ASIA (2) Dr. Volodymyr Domashlinets (Ukraine) E-mail: domashlinets[AT]menr.gov.ua; vdomashlinets[AT]yahoo.com

MIDDLE EAST AND NORTHERN AFRICA Mr. Zouhair Amhaouch (Morocco) E-mail: zouhairamhaouch[AT]yahoo.fr

WESTERN AND CENTRAL AFRICA Mr. Kouassi Félix Ouassa (Côte d'Ivoire) E-mail: <u>edouassafelix[AT]gmail.com</u>

DEPOSITARY **Mr Nick Warmelink (The Netherlands)** E-mail: <u>n.g.warmelink[AT]minlnv.nl</u>

HOST COUNTRY for MOP9 vacant